Club infomaton 2015 2016 season

Takapuna DCC Premiers wins the Auckland Cricket two day major Championship for 2015/16 season

The Champion Takapuna team with the Hedley Howarth trophy

Takapuna DCC won the prestigious Hedley Howarth trophy for the 2015/16 season by defeating the defending champions Parnell in the final round decider played at Onewa Domain over the last two Saturdays.

Final round match report - Parnell v Takapuna

Takapuna set up their victory with a big effort on the first day of their encounter with Parnell as they restricted the strong batting side to just 167.

Takapuna made good strides into that total on the first day in order to secure vital first innings points. A range of contributions from Daniel Ter Braak, Guy Harley, Hendrik Van Vuuren, William O’Donnell and Matt Jones helped Takapuna with the vital 1st innings points.

Takapuna’s contributions came from players that have offered them consistent runs through the season. Ter Braak, Harley, Van Vuuren and O’Donnell all offering useful starts to the Takapuna total as they have done throughout the season.

Another solid effort with bat and ball was then able to set up an outright victory to take the Hedley Howarth with style. The leading bowlers for Takapuna this season were Aaron Watson and Elliott Herd.

Parnell 167 (Jesse Simpson 60; Elliott Herd 4/78) and 150/6 (Will St John 34, Tom Hills 32*) played Takapuna 214 (Daniel Ter Braak 48, Guy Harley 42, Hendrik Van Vuuren 33*, William O’Donnell 32; Mark Chapman 4/26) and 105/5 (Max O’Dowd 38)


Takapuna’s Elliott Herd picked for Auckland Aces

Image result for elliott herd Takapuna Cricket

Auckland were confirmed as Plunket Shield champions for the 2015/16 season after the completion of the last round and will be looking to finish the season unbeaten in Napier.

After a very successful season with the ball for the Takapuna Premiers,  Elliott Herd has been selected in to the Auckland Aces squad to play Central Districts in the last round of Plunket Shield games.

If selected in the playing XI it will be Herd’s debut for the Mondiale Aces and he will play alongside the other two Takapuna players the Aces in Brad Cachopa and Robbie O’Donnell.

The Takapuna spinner is fresh off helping his side win the Auckland Premier Two Day Competition.




Takapuna Premier Reserves win the ACA PR One Day Championship for 2015/16 season

The Takapuna Premier Reserves had another successful one day campaign this season competing in their sixth consecutive final, coming away with their fourth consecutive win.

Experience paid dividends in the final. Takapuna came into the final finishing second on the ladder, coming up against Suburbs New Lynn who had an unbeaten round robin and home ground advantage.
Having won the toss, Takapuna captain, James Murray chose to bat to put some scoreboard pressure on Suburbs. A 102-run 5th wicket partnership between Latham (42) and Cowell (104*) was the winning of the game.

Andrew Cowell in particular played with patience and skill to guide the side to 228 after their 50 overs. Cowell played a timely innings with respect for bowlers initially, and made them pay on any full or loose deliveries throughout the innings.

A wicket off the first ball of the Suburbs innings got Takapuna pumped as Kilpatrick, the pick of the bowlers, (4 for 40 off 10) took the top off the New Lynn teams top order as they were struggling at 3 for 35 off their first 10 overs.

At 113 for 3 at 30 overs, Suburbs were looking comfortable. However cameo bowling spells from Cowell, Latham, Murray and Goad all proved valuable in chipping away at the Suburbs batting line up.

The match came down to the final overs, where Norman (2 for 35) returned to help tidy up the tail as Suburbs fell in the 50th over for 209 runs. Another memorable victory for the men in blue and yellow!

Takapuna DCC Womens win the Auckland Cricket Association Emerging Hearts 2015/16 Championship

Takapuna DCC team became the Champions of the Auckland Cricket Association Emerging Harts Womens Cricket tournament for 2016 by beating Papatoetoe Cricket Club
in the final played at Onewa Domain last Saturday.
The highlight of the final was the brilliant century scored by Sydney Bultitude.
During this season, the Takapuna team had an unbeaten run in this tournament by beating Cornwall, Papatoetoe, Howick Pakuranga, Parnell-University, Mangere and Eden Roskill teams.
The team was well coached by Jeff Harrison and Grant Croll and well supported by Carolann Kemp.
Chief scores from the final:
TDCC 287/6 - Sydney Bultitude 114 n/o ( 75 balls ) , Hayley Bindon 61 ( 47 balls )
Papatoetoe :  55 all out 19.5 overs  Maddy Probert 3/14  (  4.5 overs )

Takapuna's McCarthy honoured by NZ Cricket


Takapuna’s Mike McCarthy has been honoured in New Zealand Cricket’s Community Cricket Awards winning the ‘Volunteer of the Year’ award for the 2015/16 season.

The award acknowledges a volunteer who shows passion and commitment to cricket that exceeds expectations. It is designed to recognise the valuable contribution that
volunteers make to cricket in the community.

McCarthy receives the award for his work in developing and engaging Takapuna’s junior cricketers in their own Friday night competition the Kookaburra Cup and will pick
it up at New Zealand Cricket’s big awards night on March 30th 2017.

McCarthy says he is humbled by winning volunteer of the year, something that came as a bit of a surprise to him.

“I’m absolutely elated it has involved a lot of energy and commitment over the last few years and it’s just really nice to be recognised for that,” he says.

McCarthy is a big believer in developing the skills of young cricketers which is why he has the Premier cricketers from the club come down to teach, umpire and get involved
with the youth game.

“Parents come down with a picnic on a Friday night and it’s really hands off for them because our older boys are doing all the teaching and coaching,” McCarthy says.

McCarthy says one of the most pleasing aspects of his work has been the flow on effect it has had at the club with record numbers of hard ball players now registering for
cricket at year five.

“Kids just want to play cricket and have fun,” he says.

Fun and enjoyment are two elements that with McCarthy at the helm, Takapuna’s junior cricketers will continue to have for seasons to come.



Takapuna Primary School wins the Year 5/6 Cricket Blitz competition -Term 1 2016

Takapuna Primary School beat Sunnybrae Primary School  by 30 runs in the Takapuna District Y5/6 Cricket Blitz final played yesterday in front of over hundred spectators at Rosmini College grounds. Sunnybrae batted 1st and scored 57 runs off their allotted 16 overs and Takapuna Primary scored 87 runs in a calculated run chase off their 16 overs.

The other teams to take part in this Takapuna District tournament were Sunnynook Primary, Milford 1 & 2 and Sunnybrae 2.

Cricket Blitz is an after school competition launched by Auckland Cricket and this competition was managed by Takapuna Cricket Club. Cricket Blitz is a modified version of cricket played with 8 players per team who bats in pairs of 4 overs each regardless of the amount of times someone gets out and every player in the team gets bowl two overs each. 

Action from the Cricket Blitz Y5/6 final being played at Rosmini College grounds


Spirt of Cricket - players thanking the opponents after the game.


The Takapuna Primary School Captain Max is presented with the winners trophy by Amita 

Weerakoon, Director of Cricket, Takapuna Distric Cricket Club. Sunnybrae skipper Vickram with the

runners up trophy to the right of Amita.


The Champion Takapuna Primary School Team


the Runners up - Sunnybrae Primary School 1 team



read all